After Dark in a Mountain Lodge

http://Hasallist.com


Night falls early when hiking the mountains, life is lived more simply, to the rhythm of nature and light. But sometimes, after the other intrepid trampers sink slumberingly into their bumpy bunks, one sits awake, not quite spent enough to sleep, yet thoughts drifting with the small sensations floating around like jellyfish in a lather of drowsy thought..


Soft solitude as I sit, face in hands, in this homely hut.
Gently dripping wax is all that marks the tread of time,
As I sit, eyes and thoughts wandering, on this hard unmoulded bench.

“Kea” calls out, claiming the delicate night’s silence as her response.
Only the river gushes in a whisper, as it does,
When deepening darkness drops, and the wakeful sleep.

But I’m here, and as I sit, awakening,
I feel a guilt that you are not here.

One flickering finger pushes dark shapes from shadows to gloom.
It surrounds me now, but still there is one eager flame,
Burning to help me discover a mystery that hides behind the devouring blackness.

Leave a comment